A Review of: The Amethyst Rose Alice Dress by Lady V London

I’ve had this dress for over a year and a half now but it’s still a firm favourite. I love the huge swing skirt, the square neckline and of course those sleeves! I don’t find sleeves to be a common occurrence on vintage style dresses, but the sleeves and print on this dress makes it perfect for those colder months.

IMG_0462(1)

I’m no newbie to Lady V as a vintage reproduction dress company. As I write this, I have 27, yes, 27 of their dresses and one petticoat. I know that as a company, they value the quality of their products and supporting the British economy. Taken from their website;

All dresses are designed in house at Lady V London. Until June 2013, all dresses had been made within the EU. We have never made our dresses outside of the EU and do not approve of making garments in China. We have travelled to China and believe the quality is not good enough for Lady Vintage. Not to mention the language barrier, work standards, poor packaging, slow delivery and their ethical treatment of workers. We have seen first-hand child workers in China, and never wish to support this kind of labour.

In June 2013 we began manufacturing Lady Vintage dresses in the heart of London as we strongly believe in supporting British Businesses and British Workers. We are proud that our dresses are made in the UK’s capital and that we are able to provide work for many people in our country and support the British economy, especially in these difficult times.

We are now able to liaise directly with the workers, and oversee quality control ourselves – which means that Lady Vintage Dresses are higher quality than ever! With your support we can keep Lady Vintage in London and help boost London’s clothing manufacturing industry.

IMG_0458

IMG_0461(1)

The Alice dress features a square neckline, three-quarter length sleeves, a swing skirt and fabric belt which ties around the back, making it a really versatile dress. Launched in 2015, this style is perfect for the cooler months as, not only does it have sleeves (which isn’t a common occurrence on these dresses) but the material is also nice and thick, too. With the dress sitting just below my knees, it’s perfect to take from day to evening wear, dressing it down with some cute flats or up with heels and the square neckline allows you to wear a statement necklace. I’ve worn it for days out, meals out, swing dancing and just around the house. I’m actually really sad that they discontinued this style as I’m sure I’d have bought several more, but hopefully Lady V will bring it back one day. It’s a sure winner for me.

IMG_0463(1)

Dresses with sleeves are underrated.

IMG_0464(1)

The dress cost me £15.00 in the Christmas 2015/New Year sale and was a bit of a gamble since I didn’t have a dress in this style yet so wasn’t sure how it would fit and look, but I was delighted with the cut, quality and fabric, as always with Lady V purchases. It arrived after a couple of days and was packaged well. It is made from 97% cotton and 3% elastine.

This particular material doesn’t crease when worn, which is great for being on-the-move. It requires a light iron and washes just fine on a cool wash, which makes it very low maintenance.

I love the floral print which is very wintery and the bright purple flowers are so pretty. It’s a very feminine print.

IMG_0468(1)

As you can see from the photos, on a typically British summer’s day, it was raining (what a surprise!) so I chose to wear it with some navy kitten heels, matching headband and bracelets. I was complimented on my ensemble when out the house, which made me feel fab.

IMG_0469(1)

IMG_0470(1)

In terms of sizing, I bought this dress in a size 10 and it fits perfectly – I’m a regular UK size 10 in most shops and brands. Lady V have a really handy measurement chart on their site which is accurate, so I’d suggest taking measurements and using the chart to help you decide what size to get. In my opinion, Lady V run true to size without much stretch in their fabric.

IMG_0471(1)

IMG_0472(1)

Lady V cover UK sizes 8-32, with a specific line for the fuller figure called Lady Voluptuous which focuses on styles that flatter sizes 16-32 especially. Recently, they also launched the Little Lady Vintage line for 3-12 year olds, which is adorable.

I would always recommend Lady V London.

Full Outfit Details:
Dress – Lady V (AW2015)
Shoes – BHS (SS2015)
Headband – Gifted to me
Bracelets – Handmade by me

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

