A Review of: The Sweet Lips Blue Tea Dress by Lady V London

I was so pleased when I unwrapped the Sweet Lips Tea Dress by Lady V on Christmas day. I’d been after it for a good couple of years, but failed to snap it up the first time around and so believed I’d missed my chance. 

Trawling sites online thereafter, I just couldn’t get my hands on it. So when Lady V brought the print back in a very limited quantity last winter, I was ecstatic.

1BFFE372-2FEC-460B-A00A-71A45DEA7329

Taken from Lady V’s website;

All dresses are designed in house at Lady V London. Until June 2013, all dresses had been made within the EU. We have never made our dresses outside of the EU and do not approve of making garments in China. We have travelled to China and believe the quality is not good enough for Lady Vintage. Not to mention the language barrier, work standards, poor packaging, slow delivery and their ethical treatment of workers. We have seen first-hand child workers in China, and never wish to support this kind of labour.

In June 2013 we began manufacturing Lady Vintage dresses in the heart of London as we strongly believe in supporting British Businesses and British Workers. We are proud that our dresses are made in the UK’s capital and that we are able to provide work for many people in our country and support the British economy, especially in these difficult times.

We are now able to liaise directly with the workers, and oversee quality control ourselves – which means that Lady Vintage Dresses are higher quality than ever! With your support we can keep Lady Vintage in London and help boost London’s clothing manufacturing industry.

1494176298645

I like that the dresses are designed and produced in the UK, which is always a plus, as we should support our British businesses, but it also means that my orders have arrived after only a couple of days.

The dress cost £50.00 full price, which I can’t argue with since the quality is so worth it. The tea dress style is, I’d say, what Lady V are most famous for. I own around thirty Lady V dresses now, and I have far more in this style than any other. It’s cute, fun and perfect for weddings, parties, meeting friends and of course, afternoon tea.

1494176213991

1494176110628

This particular dress is made from 97% cotton and 3% elastine and is very comfortable to wear. The material is light and yet not thin enough to exclude wearing it in the colder months too. In terms of maintenance, it requires a light iron after being washed on a cool cycle, but keeps the print, colour, shape and quality very well.

I love the print. It’s summery, it’s fun and bright. The red lips are iconic of pin-ups and vintage style. The V neck back is sophisticated and I love love love the bow, from the fabric belt. Flats or heels both work well with the style of the dress and you could go either way in terms of colour – bright red, blue or even a neutral shade.I often wear my Lady V white petticoat with the dress as it makes it extra fun and vintage feeling, but on this occasion I was heading out to see family and I tend to reserve my petticoats for fancier occasions.

1494176065628

1494175987137

As you can see from the photos, I went for silver sandals with the dress to create a fun, summery look and left jewellery off so as to keep attention drawn to the fun print. Some cat eye sunglasses and bright red lipstick finished the look and pulled the 50’s vibe all together.

I’m wearing a UK size 10, as I’m a size 10 pretty much everywhere else and it fits well. I’m just under 5ft 7 and it sits above my knees. Lady V have a really handy measurement chart on their site which is accurate, so I’d suggest taking measurements and using the chart to help you decide what size to get. I’d say Lady V run true to size.

1494175935575

This print isn’t currently available from Lady V, but other prints in the tea dress style are and it’s possible this print could come back again. It’s extremely popular among Lady V fans.

Lady V cover UK sizes 8-32, with a specific line for the fuller figure called Lady Voluptuous which focuses on styles that flatter sizes 16-32 especially. Recently, they also launched the Little Lady Vintage line for 3-12 year olds, which is adorable.

Full Outfit Details:
Dress- Lady V (SS2015)
Shoes – Primark (SS2017)
Sunglasses – Vintage 

IMG_7612(2)

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

