A Review of: The Pink Floral Sweetheart Dress by Whispering Ivy

Whispering Ivy wasn’t brand I’d heard of before, but I chanced it and bought this lovely, summery dress anyway. 

IMG_4221

The colours in this dress remind me of Barbie. You know the 80’s dresses she sometimes wore? Floral prints and bright pink.

IMG_4237

I bought it in Little Wings Factory‘s summer sale, paying just £15.00 for it which isn’t at all bad (I’ve spent up to £60 on a vintage repro’ dress before). It’s one of those dresses that you can wear to picnics in the park, walking around town and even running errands. It’s light and airy, casual and fun. It’s pretty darn cute, too.

Taken from Whispering Ivy’s website:

We are a vintage wholesale and online store specializing in 1950s dresses with a twist. Our designs mix the hottest vintage trends, with modern materials and add in a sprinkle of retro glamour so you will always be one step ahead of the vintage fashion crowd.

Whispering Ivy takes inspiration from pinups of bygone eras – we look back to the iconic starlets of the 1950s such as blonde bombshell Marilyn Monroe; the epitome of elegance Elizabeth Taylor and elfin darling Audrey Hepburn.

They’re an American brand and do sell directly from their website, though only to the US and Canada at the moment, but other sites stock their items, like Little Wings Factory.

IMG_4224

IMG_4225

I was drawn to this dress not only due to the sale price, but I felt it was pretty versatile and that I’d get a lot of wear out of it. It’ll be good for summer parties, dancing and during the day, too. It’s made from a stretchy cotton blend and feels well made and it sits just below the knee. With a zip down the back and a matching belt, it’s easy to wear and creates a lovely shape and silhouette.  It requires an iron after a cool wash and line dry.

IMG_4226

IMG_4227

I chose to accessories the dress with nude heels, a pink bracelet, coordinating green polka-dot bow headband, daisy earrings and pulling my hair to the side. I then swiped on some matching, bright pink lipstick and I was ready to go. I think some pink strappy shoes would look really cute, along with a petticoat.

IMG_4230

IMG_4231

In terms of sizing, I bought this dress in a size 10 (S), which fits rather well but feels slightly big around my waist and chest. If I was slightly broader, it would fit perfectly.

IMG_4233

IMG_4235

Whispering Ivy cater for sizes S-XL currently and are available more so through other online retailers than themselves. I would definitely consider ordering more of their dresses in future, and browsing their website, there’s many more gorgeous pin-up style dresses.

Full Outfit Details:
Dress- Whispering Ivy (SS2015)
Shoes – Dorothy Perkins (AW2014)
Bracelet – Market
Earrings – Vintage
Headband – Claire’s, a few years ago 

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


 

KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

