A Review of: The Nautical Print Pencil Skirt by Lady V London

Around the beginning of the year, possibly earlier, Lady V launched their pencil skirts. 

Lady V London has been taking the vintage reproduction clothing world by storm with their gorgeous, pretty dresses and introducing many people to the clothing style, for a good few years now. Famous for their dresses, they’ve since launched skirts, tops and accessories too in many of the same prints and colours. This was my first purchase of a Lady V skirt.

IMG_6453

I do love a good pencil skirt, so I’d been considering one of Lady V’s for a while, but was unsure since I’d only ever ordered dresses and petticoats from them, but when they launched their mega summer sale and reduced a lot of stock, I gave in to this skirt, reduced from £28 to £12.

IMG_6448

I really love the nautical print and the gorgeous bright blue colour. I loved it on their tea dress but thought I’d try it in the pencil skirt. The print is summery, yet the colour could take you right through the year, not looking out of place in winter, either.

The pencil skirt style is ideal for work, but not so much for casual days, I feel. It’s very modest, sitting below the knee on me (I’m just under 5 ft 7) and looks smart.

IMG_6449

IMG_6450

Taken from Lady V’s website;

All dresses are designed in house at Lady V London. Until June 2013, all dresses had been made within the EU. We have never made our dresses outside of the EU and do not approve of making garments in China. We have travelled to China and believe the quality is not good enough for Lady Vintage. Not to mention the language barrier, work standards, poor packaging, slow delivery and their ethical treatment of workers. We have seen first-hand child workers in China, and never wish to support this kind of labour.

In June 2013 we began manufacturing Lady Vintage dresses in the heart of London as we strongly believe in supporting British Businesses and British Workers. We are proud that our dresses are made in the UK’s capital and that we are able to provide work for many people in our country and support the British economy, especially in these difficult times.

We are now able to liaise directly with the workers, and oversee quality control ourselves – which means that Lady Vintage Dresses are higher quality than ever! With your support we can keep Lady Vintage in London and help boost London’s clothing manufacturing industry.

I like that Lady V’s clothes are designed and produced in the UK, which is always a plus, as we should support our British businesses, but it also means that my orders have arrived after only a couple of days, too.

IMG_6452

IMG_6447

Just like many of their dresses, this skirt if made from 97% cotton and 3% elastine, meaning it isn’t very stretchy but is a nice, soft, strong material that should wash well and keep its shape even after a lot of wears.  A downside for me was that it isn’t lined and I found it did crease easily. Due to their tight fitting nature, pencil skirts tend to crease when you sit down, but it’s finding the right material that doesn’t hold that crease when you stand back up. This is why I prefer fully stretchy materials for pencil skirts.

I chose to combine the skirt with matching navy heels, a floral white crop top and blue scarf, for a cute but sophisticated look. You could go all out with red and navy accessories and really accentuate the nautical vibe.

IMG_6451

In terms of sizing, I bought the skirt in a size 10, as I’m a size 10 in Lady V London clothes usually and it fitted ok-ish. I found it fit just about right around my waist so that it stayed put and didn’t ride up, but it was too straight down in the shape of the skirt.  It didn’t really show off my figure or legs and didn’t feel at all sexy or figure complimentary, which I found disappointing. I tried the skirt on twice, on two separate days, to compare what I thought, but I didn’t really feel it either day. So I sold it still with tags on to someone else. I wouldn’t rule out Lady V skirts in future, as I’m such a huge fan of their dresses, so I’ll be keeping my eye out. But I wasn’t taken this time around.

IMG_6454

What do you think?

Lady V cover UK sizes 8-32, with a specific line for the fuller figure called Lady Voluptuous which focuses on styles that flatter sizes 16-32 especially. Recently, they also launched the Little Lady Vintage line for 3-12 year olds, which is adorable.

Full Outfit Details:
Top – New Look (SS2015)

Skirt – Lady V (SS2017)
Shoes – BHS (SS2015)
Scarf – Gifted to me, label says Tie Rack
Headband – Handmade Vintage Craft Market
Bracelets – Gifted to me

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


 

KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

