A Review of: The Contessa Blue Venice Border Skirt by Lindy Bop

I ordered this dress a week before I went to Venice with my other half, for the New Year. Sadly, it didn’t arrive until a day after we left, so I couldn’t wear it whilst there, but I did wear the hell out of it when I got back!

IMG_3307

My order of this skirt and a dress was my first with Lindy Bop. I knew it was a popular pin-up brand and had admired the fun prints for a while. The Christmas sale encouraged me to finally make my first order.

IMG_3314

Taken from Lindy Bop’s website:

Lindy Bop has come a long way since first starting in 2011 and is now a strong, highly-recognised brand available world-wide on most leading online selling platforms.

Our brand is about delivering exciting and unique vintage-inspired fashion, consistently producing new designs through the year. We look at what customers want and provide them with an affordable, quality product. Our online business continues to grow as an increasing number of high street and online retailers stock the Lindy Bop name; why not look out for us when you’re next in a vintage fashion store?

Which is all very true.

IMG_3308

This dress is a very cute, very fun addition to my wardrobe. It is lined and even has pockets, which makes it practical, too. It has a distinctive, flared skirt which pleats at the waist and sits very comfortably around my middle. The concealed zip at the back makes it easy to put on and take off and it’s very well made. The dress is made from 100% cotton, so it’s soft to the touch, strong and washes well. It requires a good iron after each wash, including the lining, but this isn’t too much of a problem.

IMG_3309

This skirt comes in a yellow version, but I much preferred the blue as it’s my favourite colour, but also because it goes with a lot more in my wardrobe. The yellow is more summery whereas this colour is much more an all-year-rounder.

You don’t need to wear a petticoat with this skirt, as it’s so full and lovely without and creates that iconic pin-up shape all on its own.

I adore the Venice print. It’s designed in a painted style and is very eye catching. I always receive compliments on it and I feel it’s unusual but still rather subtle. It’s not too in your face. The little, fluffy clouds and detailing around the pockets all adds to its prettiness, as well as the pockets being functional – not often found in skirts! I bought it for £18 with full price being £32.

IMG_3310

IMG_3311

In terms of sizing, I’m a comfortable UK size 10 in pretty much everything, so I ordered a 10 and it fits well, especially around my waist. Lindy Bop do have an online size guide that you can use or you could drop them an email to check if you’re unsure on sizing.

This skirt is back in production for the summer and is available from Lindy Bop’s website.

IMG_3312

I like styling it with long sleeved tops as I feel it balances out the shape of the skirt and gives a nice silhouette. I often pair with with shirts with hot air balloons and birds on, to give the idea of them floating or flying over the top of Venice.

IMG_3313

Lindy Bop cover UK sizes 6-26 and have been established for over five years now. Their following on social media is large and they’re well established as a leading vintage reproduction clothing company, offering dresses, skirts, tops, coats and more.

Full Outfit Details:
Skirt- Lindy Bop (SS2016)
Top – Dorothy Perkins – (SS2015)
Shoes – Charity shop find, but New Look label
Bracelet – Claire’s Accessories a few years ago
Beads – So old, I can’t remember

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


 

KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

