A Review of: The Mainline Trixie Atomic Star Pencil Dress by Collectif

After receiving this gorgeous dress for Valentine’s Day from my fiance, I’ve been meaning to review it for a while. The Tea Dance I went to, for which I wore it, gave me a great excuse to play with how you could style it, which I’ve based my review around. 

IMG_5157

Originally £45.50, I believe my other half managed to snap this up in the Collectif sale when it was around half price. Saying that, I would purchase a dress this well made and beautifully fitting for this price. It truly is a gorgeous dress.

My fiance said that the dress arrived just a few days after purchasing it and was packaged well.

Knowing my usual dress size, he got a UK size 10, which fits perfectly. I am usually a size 10 in most shops and it couldn’t fit any better.

I feel both sexy and elegant when wearing this dress and adore the print.

Taken from Collectif’s website:

Collectif was established in the year 2000, as a stall in one of the most exciting and unique retail destinations in the world; Camden Market. Over the past sixteen years we have grown to open four stores in and around London, plus concessions in Miss L Fire, LA and Beyond Retro, Sweden.

Today we proudly design & produce all our own clothing, which is now separated in to two lines: Collectif Vintage, inspired by the classic styles of 1940’s and 50’s and Collectif Mainline, maintaining our roots in pin-up and alternative culture. Versatility and originality pervade Collectif’s design philosophy; we combine new fashion trends with classic vintage styles, along with a good a splash of rock and roll! For us, our collections are more than fashion; they are about creating a timeless sense of romance and glamour set against an unconventional background.

Now, the first way I chose to style it was for my daytime errands. I kept it somewhat basic and pulled my hair back in to a half-up-half-down. With a slick of eyeliner and basic lipstick, I was ready to go. –

IMG_4540(1)

IMG_5159

Full Outfit Details:
Dress – Collectif (AW2016)
Beaded Bracelets – Gifted to me years ago
Shoes – Peacocks (SS2016)
Necklace – Etsy a few years ago 

For the evening, I went more glam by swapping the black bolero out for a pink, fluffy shrug and added bright red lipstick and a pretty headband.

IMG_4808(2)

IMG_4821(1)

IMG_4822(1)

Full Outfit Details:
Dress – Collectif (AW2016)
Shrug – Miss Selfridge, found in a vintage shop
Headband – Newlook a few years ago
Beaded Bracelets – Gifted to me years ago
Shoes – Peacocks (SS2016)
Necklace – Etsy a few years ago 

The dress is made from 79% viscose, 18% nylon and 3% spandex. I wash it on a cool wash and then hang it up to dry. The material means it doesn’t need an iron. I find it doesn’t crease easily at all, even when worn, which is fabulous, as when this happens in other dresses, it irritates me. The dress can ride up as I walk so needs readjusting, but isn’t really a problem. The way the fabric sits against my curves feels very flattering and it fits so snuggly, yet comfortably.

The material means it has stretch to it so that even when I’ve eaten a big meal, I still feel comfortable and it doesn’t get any tighter, even though it’s very fitted.

Overall, I’m really happy with the dress and have since placed more orders with Collectif.


Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


 

KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

