A Review of: The White Butterfly Day Dress by Lady V London

This dress is true Lady V vintage! It’s from 2014. It was the fifth dress from Lady V London that I’d ever bought and was the first day dress, too.

IMG_1833

It is the perfect spring and summer dress, as it rarely comes out in autumn/winter due to it’s light fabric and spring print. I’ve worn it for work, days at home, meeting friends and summer parties. It’s so pretty and I like many aspects of it.

IMG_1844

IMG_1843

Taken from Lady V’s website;

All dresses are designed in house at Lady V London. Until June 2013, all dresses had been made within the EU. We have never made our dresses outside of the EU and do not approve of making garments in China. We have travelled to China and believe the quality is not good enough for Lady Vintage. Not to mention the language barrier, work standards, poor packaging, slow delivery and their ethical treatment of workers. We have seen first-hand child workers in China, and never wish to support this kind of labour.

In June 2013 we began manufacturing Lady Vintage dresses in the heart of London as we strongly believe in supporting British Businesses and British Workers. We are proud that our dresses are made in the UK’s capital and that we are able to provide work for many people in our country and support the British economy, especially in these difficult times.

We are now able to liaise directly with the workers, and oversee quality control ourselves – which means that Lady Vintage Dresses are higher quality than ever! With your support we can keep Lady Vintage in London and help boost London’s clothing manufacturing industry.

IMG_1842

IMG_1838

I like that Lady V’s dresses are designed and produced in the UK, which is always a plus, as we should support our British businesses, but it also means that my orders have arrived after only a couple of days.

I was drawn to this dress because it looked more informal than the tea dresses I already owned from Lady V, and it’s good to have a mix of dresses for different occasions. I knew that this would get more day to day wear.

I haven’t worn this 1950’s inspired day dress with a petticoat before, although I do have the coordinating 23 inch Lady V white petticoat that would work, but I prefer this more casual dress without it.

IMG_1837

IMG_1836

I believe the dress cost around £40.00 when full price, although I got it for the bargain price of £15.00 as it was in the end of line sale. It is made from 65% polyester and 35% cotton, which makes it light and easy to wear. I do find the material to be a bit thin, so I have to be aware of my underwear possibly showing through! It requires a good iron after a cool wash and line dry, as it creases very easily, which can be a pain, but it’s so pretty, I forgive it.

IMG_1835

The pleated neckline, swooshy skirt and tie belt (which I like to tie around to the front) makes it really pretty and feminine, combined with the cute, capped sleeves and floral and butterfly print. I have a slight obsession with butterflies…

As you can see from the photos, I wore nude tights (it’s not quite warm enough yet to go bare-legged!) and cute flats with the dress to create a pretty daytime look.

In terms of sizing, I bought this dress in a size 10, which fits rather well. I’d say it feels a little big around the waist but it just means I have room to eat! I still buy size 10’s from Lady V (I’m usually a standard 10 anywhere I shop) and I’ve found the sizing has since got better. Lady V have a really handy measurement chart on their site which is accurate, so I’d suggest taking measurements and using the chart to help you decide what size to get. I would say Lady V run quite true to size.

IMG_1839

This specific day dress is sadly no longer produced and was made in limited quantities. You may be able to find it on second hand sale sites, but if not, then lady v often release new day dresses this time of year with just as pretty prints.

Lady V cover UK sizes 8-32, with a specific line for the fuller figure called Lady Voluptuous which focuses on styles that flatter sizes 16-32 especially. Recently, they also launched the Little Lady Vintage line for 3-12 year olds, which is adorable.

IMG_1586 - Copy

IMG_1587 - Copy

IMG_1589 - Copy

I would always recommend Lady V London.

Full Outfit Details:
Dress- Lady V (SS2014)
Tights – F&F
Shoes – Primark (AW2016)
Cardigan – Dorothy Perkins (SS2016)
Bracelet – handmade craft fair

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


 

KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

 

Leave a Reply

