Swing Back To The 1940’s Event

On Bank Holiday Monday, 29th May, I spent my day off work at another 1940’s themed event – Swing Back To The 1940’s.

IMG_0551(1)

Set at The Framework Knitters Museum in Nottinghamshire, the event had a mixture of things to see and do.

Upon arriving, we checked out part of the museum as well as some dance workshops going on. It was great to see people of all ages getting involved.

 

I could have watched them dance all day – they were having so much fun!

IMG_0486

IMG_0487

Moving on to other parts of the museum, we saw rooms set up like the 1940’s – mostly bedrooms, which was really interesting and got me thinking about how much times have changed. Things were somewhat simpler back then and people generally had less ‘stuff’ in their homes. Many couldn’t afford much anyway.

 

Many of the rooms were very tiny and crammed and stairways were steep and narrow.

In the beautiful garden, the professional photographer for the event asked to take a photo of me as I was dressed in retro style clothing (I’m hoping he’ll put these online for me to have a look!), and then we browsed stands full of vintage clothing, trinkets and plants for sale.

IMG_0546

IMG_0551(1)

IMG_0489

IMG_0494(1)

IMG_0496(1)

There was also a hair boutique offering victory rolls and a sweet shop selling rations. We picked up some rationed sweets and I watched the hairdresser creating fantastic hair do’s. I might have to give victory rolls a go some day. I’m not sure they’d suit me, though!

IMG_0561(1)

IMG_0552(1)

We ended our day at the tea room, having a slice of cake and drink before we left, which was lovely.

IMG_0547

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

