A Review of: The Mainline Jessie Velvet Heart Cardigan by Collectif

This cropped cardigan was an impulsive buy. Usually, I pour over things for ages before buying them, but I was scrolling through the Collectif sale, with two other things in my basket, when I saw this cute cardigan. I Just thought it was adorable and, even though I never wear green, I was drawn to it like a moth to a flame!

IMG_1561(1)

The big heart applique on the back is a nice touch, and so are the little heart buttons, but it was the cropped style of it that I liked most. It’s not a bolero, which is a typically vintage piece of clothing, but a cardigan that cuts at the waist to give a bolero-like feel. I feel that it looks better when buttoned up, but you could of course also wear it unbuttoned.

 

As I ordered it in the end of line (AW2016) sale, I got it for £13.48, down from £38.50, which is a nice save of almost 60%. It arrived just two days after ordering and was packaged well.

Taken from Collectif’s website:

Collectif was established in the year 2000, as a stall in one of the most exciting and unique retail destinations in the world; Camden Market. Over the past sixteen years we have grown to open four stores in and around London, plus concessions in Miss L Fire, LA and Beyond Retro, Sweden.

Today we proudly design & produce all our own clothing, which is now separated in to two lines: Collectif Vintage, inspired by the classic styles of 1940’s and 50’s and Collectif Mainline, maintaining our roots in pin-up and alternative culture. Versatility and originality pervade Collectif’s design philosophy; we combine new fashion trends with classic vintage styles, along with a good a splash of rock and roll! For us, our collections are more than fashion; they are about creating a timeless sense of romance and glamour set against an unconventional background.

ECE3A8C1-A6E1-4BFD-91D6-11AA813419B7

IMG_1566

I have worn it for work, around the house and days out with friends. It’s very warm and well made, made from 70% acrylic and 30% lycra. It’s easy to look after as I wash it on a cool wash and then let it air-dry as it can’t be ironed, but doesn’t need one anyway. I just have to ensure I reshape it whilst damp. It works well over dresses, with trousers and skirts, and I hope to catch it in some other colours and patterns, too. It’ very versatile.

IMG_1560(1)

EC8EA521-5CC4-402C-8DCD-C59356FC9E4A

On this occasion, I chose to wear the cardigan with a boohoo skirt, black tights and flat shoes for work. I received compliments on the colour, heart applique,  as well as the buttons.

Full Outfit Details:
Cardigan – Collectif (AW2016)
Skirt – Boohoo (AW2016)
Tights – F&F
Shoes – Primark (AW2016)

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

