Wonderland Cafe – Alice in Wonderland Themed Cafe, Nottingham

I’ve been wanting to go to the Alice in Wonderland themed cafe for a while now and I was finally able to, last weekend. It opened on 1st December 2016. 

It was everything I’d expected and more. 

IMG_9818

First of all, finding the cafe was a little ‘trickier’ than most cafes, as it’s situated under a vintage shop called Hopkinson’s, by Nottingham Train Station. You follow the funky wall art round to the door into the cafe (which I love). It got me all excited like a little kid!

You can go through the full size door, but I feel like it’s obligatory to use the small one at least once, in keeping with the Wonderland theme of the cafe. It’s so cute!

17353372_10212764235167868_2957760808304563496_n

As soon as I walked through the (teeny) door, I was in awe. The amount of detail they’ve put into the cafe is amazing, to recreate Wonderland; a little escape from the real world.

There’s grass flooring, quirky tables and chairs, vintage mismatching china, cake stands made by cups and saucers stuck together, seemingly ‘balancing’ on each other, flamingos, extensive wall art, floating ice creams and table pieces. It’s wacky and eccentric in all of the best ways.

But it’s not just the decor, the staff are in character too. From outfits through to voices and interactions with customers. The Mad Hatter and Queen of Hearts were my particular favourites. The Queen was mean and the Mad Hatter was mad, going around the room looking for mice under cups! He even let us try his hat on. The addition of staff in character is a brilliant touch and lots of fun.

The menu is fun and there is a choice of savoury and sweet options, but only one gluten free option which was a little disappointing, although I suspect they’ll expand this once they’ve been open a little longer. The gluten free brownies I had were lovely and the strawberry and raspberry pot of tea for two was plenty. It was so summery.

They also offer afternoon teas which looked amazing, as well as huge slices of cake. I’m looking at booking afternoon tea, although I’m currently unsure that they’ll be able to cater for me and my dietary requirements at this time.

The cafe would appeal to all Alice in Wonderland fans, literary fans, many vintage fans, most children, lovers of anything quirky, unusual and different and would be the perfect place for catching up with a friend, a birthday (or unbirthday) of all ages or just grabbing a bite to eat. It’s so wonderfully eccentric and fun. I’ll definitely be going back, taking several friends with me and wearing my Alice in Wonderland dress. Obviously.

IMG_3638

The owner would like to expand the cafe, building themed booths, a fireplace you can crawl through, install a disabled toilet and be able to sell alcohol. Which all sounds AMAZING. But they need our help. To back them on Crowd Funder, see here.

The Wonderland Cafe can be found at 21 Station Street, Nottingham, NG2 3AJ

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

