A Review of: The Red Satin Halter-neck Dress by Lady V London

The Red Satin Halterneck Dress by Lady V London was my seventh Lady V dress, bought in 2014. By this point, I was bitten by the bug and a secret addict to their beautiful dresses.

img_4592

As I waited eagerly for midnight to come, so I could grab the red halterneck dress in their annual Christmas sale, I told myself I didn’t need another dress. But that didn’t stop me!

This dress hasn’t been restocked since it sold out in late 2014, but it’s become my annual Christmas day dress and deserves a review on my blog all the same. Hopefully Lady V will make some more gorgeous halternecks and this review will give people an idea of what they’d be like. You may be lucky to track this dress down online through a secondhand selling site, too.

15747487_10211984468834197_5762938841840589630_n

Most of my other Lady V dresses (25 and counting!) have been in the Tea Dress style, but I do love a good, girly halterneck, too.

Every year I wear this dress, I receive compliments. It’s simply gorgeous.

Taken from Lady V’s website;

All dresses are designed in house at Lady V London. Until June 2013, all dresses had been made within the EU. We have never made our dresses outside of the EU and do not approve of making garments in China. We have travelled to China and believe the quality is not good enough for Lady Vintage. Not to mention the language barrier, work standards, poor packaging, slow delivery and their ethical treatment of workers. We have seen first-hand child workers in China, and never wish to support this kind of labour.

In June 2013 we began manufacturing Lady Vintage dresses in the heart of London as we strongly believe in supporting British Businesses and British Workers. We are proud that our dresses are made in the UK’s capital and that we are able to provide work for many people in our country and support the British economy, especially in these difficult times.

We are now able to liaise directly with the workers, and oversee quality control ourselves – which means that Lady Vintage Dresses are higher quality than ever! With your support we can keep Lady Vintage in London and help boost London’s clothing manufacturing industry.

img_45671

I’m not sure what this dress cost full price, but I believe around £45.00, as it cost me £18.00 in their sale. The dress is made from 97% cotton and 3% elastine and feels very smooth, with a shiny look. It’s very comfortable, with a zip on the back and halterneck tie and sweetheart neckline on the front. The bow is also an adorable addition.

img_47281

img_47291

The dress also came with a skinny black waist belt. I chose to wear it with my Lady V 23 inch white petticoat, which is too short to show unless the dress is lifted up, but I like the authentic vintage look it gives.

As you can see from the photos, I styled the dress with white stockings and kept jewellery to a minimum. I wore white, long evening gloves and a Santa hat to give it a Mrs Claus effect, and sparkly gold heels.

I bought this dress in a UK size 12, but since losing weight and becoming a size 10 in their dresses, it’s now a bit too big. However, I found the waist belt cinched it in to the right size again. Lady V have a really handy measurement chart on their site which is accurate, so I’d suggest taking measurements and using the chart to help you decide what size to get. I’d say Lady V tend to run true to size.

Lady V cover UK sizes 8-32, with a specific line for the fuller figure called Lady Voluptuous which focuses on styles that flatter sizes 16-32 especially. Recently, they also launched the Little Lady Vintage line for 3-12 year olds, which is adorable.

img_47271

I would always recommend Lady V London.

Full Outfit Details:
Dress- Lady V (AW2016)
Petticoat – Lady V
Stockings – I can’t remember!
Gloves – Vintage
Shoes – Dorothy Perkins (AW2014)

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

