A Review of: The Dolores 50’s Cherry Print Pencil Dress by Collectif

My order of the Cherry Pencil Dress by Collectif and another dress I’ll review separately, was my first with the company, and I was not been disappointed. Their Facebook page came up on my timeline as a suggested page based on all my other ‘likes’ and I can see why! They already have a huge fan following of those who love the vintage style, with their gorgeously cute dresses, tops, jeans and more. 

IMG_1243

I ordered this dress in the end of summer sale, meaning I got it for the bargain price of £9.99 when the original price was £50.00. Although this exact dress is no longer available, the style is still in full swing and available in many other prints and colours on their site. There’s also dedicated Facebook groups set up for reselling of Collectif clothes, so you could get your hands on this through one of those, I’m sure. I wouldn’t be surprised if they brought this print back for next spring/summer.

My order arrived just a few days after placing it and was packaged really nicely. I was so excited to open it and was not disappointed. I am usually a size 10 in most shops so opted for a size 10 here; a little nervous that it wouldn’t fit as it’s a tight fitting dress. But, it fits perfectly! It couldn’t fit any better in fact.

I feel incredibly sexy in it; confident and powerful. It compliments your curves in every way and feels very Marilyn Monroe.

Taken from Collectif’s website:

Collectif was established in the year 2000, as a stall in one of the most exciting and unique retail destinations in the world; Camden Market. Over the past sixteen years we have grown to open four stores in and around London, plus concessions in Miss L Fire, LA and Beyond Retro, Sweden.

Today we proudly design & produce all our own clothing, which is now separated in to two lines: Collectif Vintage, inspired by the classic styles of 1940’s and 50’s and Collectif Mainline, maintaining our roots in pin-up and alternative culture. Versatility and originality pervade Collectif’s design philosophy; we combine new fashion trends with classic vintage styles, along with a good a splash of rock and roll! For us, our collections are more than fashion; they are about creating a timeless sense of romance and glamour set against an unconventional background.

I was drawn to the cherry wiggle dress as I adore cherry print. Ever since seeing Marilyn in a cherry dress in The Misfits at age seventeen, I’ve always been drawn to it. Then the model wearing the dress on the Collectif website looked stunning, so that sold it to me too. The price made it a must-have! Not that I needed anymore dresses…

The dress is made from 97% cotton and 3% elastane, and I wash it on a cool wash and give it an iron after line-drying. It creases very easily, even when worn, and the dress rides up as I walk so needs readjusting often, which can be frustrating. But the fabric feels lovely and it’s a very well-made dress.

IMG_1239

As you can see, I chose to wear the dress with burgundy heels from peacocks,  a headband, red beaded jewellery and a floral bangle. The dress doesn’t work with coloured tights at all, so you have to be bare-legged or in flesh coloured tights, really. It is much more of a summer dress.

Whenever I wear it, I receive many compliments and I feel fabulous! It has a bit of stretch to it so that even when I’ve eaten a big meal, I still feel good in it and it doesn’t get any tighter!

Overall, I’m really happy with this dress from Collectif (I LOVE it) and will no doubt be ordering from them again (I already have my eye on some high-waisted jeans!)

Full Outfit Details:
Dress – Collectif (SS2016)
Beaded Bracelet – Claire’s Accessories, years ago!
Bangle – Primark, years ago!
Shoes – Peacocks (AW2016)
Headband – Handmade craft fair 

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

2 comments

Leave a Reply

