A Review of: The Navy Clocks Tea Dress by Lady V London

Believe it or not, this is my fourteenth Lady V dress.. I know, I know, I’m kind of addicted. I just adore their prints, the style of the  1950’s tea dress in particular and the customer service is always perfect. They wash well (on a cool wash) and require minimal maintenance (a light iron), so they’re a sure winner. Whenever I wear a Lady V dress, I always receive compliments. Every. Single. Time. 

Most of my Lady V dresses so far have been bought in the sales – they do brilliant sales often, usually 10-15% off, but in their end of line sales as much as 50% off – but I actually paid full price for this one, which means I really wanted it.. I love navy and I love quirky, unusual prints, so the combination of the quirky, cute clocks print, which reminded me of Alice in Wonderland, the navy blue colour and the tea dress style which I already had ten other Lady V dresses in, instantly attracted me to it. It also looked like a dress that could be dressed up or down which is always a plus.

Taken from Lady V’s website;

All dresses are designed in house at Lady V London. Until June 2013, all dresses had been made within the EU. We have never made our dresses outside of the EU and do not approve of making garments in China. We have travelled to China and believe the quality is not good enough for Lady Vintage. Not to mention the language barrier, work standards, poor packaging, slow delivery and their ethical treatment of workers. We have seen first-hand child workers in China, and never wish to support this kind of labour.

In June 2013 we began manufacturing Lady Vintage dresses in the heart of London as we strongly believe in supporting British Businesses and British Workers. We are proud that our dresses are made in the UK’s capital and that we are able to provide work for many people in our country and support the British economy, especially in these difficult times.

We are now able to liaise directly with the workers, and oversee quality control ourselves – which means that Lady Vintage Dresses are higher quality than ever! With your support we can keep Lady Vintage in London and help boost London’s clothing manufacturing industry.

I like that the dresses are designed and produced in the UK, which is always a plus, as we should support our British businesses, but it also means that my orders have arrived after only a couple of days.

This dress costs £50.00 full price, which is on the pricier side for me, but clearly I thought it was worth it, as I already own so many other Lady V dresses, so know what the quality is like. This dress is made from 95% cotton and 5% elastane and is very comfortable to wear, formally or casually. It comes with an attached fabric belt which ties in to a bow around the back. This looks super cute. I forgot to get a photo of the back, but you can see it here – http://www.bo-peep.ie/Navy-Clocks-Tea-Dress-p/lv1062.htm).

The tea dress style means it has a high neck front and V neck back, which looks very cute and elegant. The flared skirt can be made even fuller by wearing a twenty-three inch petticoat underneath, which I have but chose not to wear here as I was going for a casual look. But it does look girlier and more vintage with one.

img_2209

img_2207

As you can see from the photos, I wore black tights with the dress as it’s November, so cold and wet, and a cardigan that matches the cream clock pattern. Personally, I think this style looks best without a cardigan over the top as it shows the shape of the dress off much better; how it pulls you in at the waist then flares out. I also added some blue beads to finish it off, pulling my curled hair around to one side and pinning it in place. You can’t see in the photos, but I wore black flats (shoes) with it today, although I think it’d look best with boots when wearing tights, or heels. You could definitely use this as an Alice in Wonderland cosplay or dress up!

I bought this dress last year in Lady V’s AW2015 collection, when I was two stone heavier and a size 12, but since I’ve lost all that weight, I’m now back to a 10 in their clothes. As you can see though, it’s not a terrible fit, still. I do buy new dresses from lady V in a 10 now, but I still wear my 12’s. I find that because they have the tie-belt, it still looks very fitted anyway. The only part that looks a bit big is the material across my chest/neck area. Lady V have a really handy measurement chart on their site which is accurate, so I’d suggest taking measurements and using the chart to help you decide what size to get. I’d say Lady V run true to size, if not on the smaller side. The materials they use don’t tend to have a lot of stretch.

This print comes in various other dress styles and possibly a skirt, too, but they restock it randomly. You can probably find it online somewhere or for second hand.

Lady V cover UK sizes 8-32, with a specific line for the fuller figure called Lady Voluptuous which focuses on styles that flatter sizes 16-32 especially. Recently, they also launched the Little Lady Vintage line for 3-12 year olds, which is adorable.

I would always recommend Lady V London.

img_2212

Full Outfit Details:
Dress- Lady V (AW2015)
Tights – F&F
Bead Necklace – Charity shop find
Bracelet – Gifted to me 

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

Leave a Reply

