1930’s Murder Mystery Party

On the weekend just gone, I threw a murder mystery party for a group of friends.

Upon moving house earlier this year, I found a murder mystery game set that my other half’s dad bought for him years ago, but we’d never used. I had a read of the instructions, invited a bunch of friends and then eagerly started planning the event. 

I love organising things.. 

The game description said that the story would be set in the 1930’s, which gave me a great opportunity to put together an atmospheric playlist of 1930’s dance numbers, a spread of food and drinks inspired by what would have been popular at the time and, of course, vintage style decoration.

img_1973-edited

Shown in the photo above, I also included some handmade ‘photo booth props’, which are always good fun. I created these by googling ‘cartoon top hat’ and ‘cartoon bow tie’ for example, cutting them out, laminating them, then cutting them out again and taping to wooden cocktail sticks. They always make for fun photos after a few cocktails or glasses of wine!

For my ‘costume’, I went with a SS16 Lady V dress which I already had, bought from the Lady V end of summer sale; the White Butterfly Floral Eloise Dress. Although it’s technically inspired by the 1950’s. I paired it with a red belt and matching red hat (worn backwards because I preferred it that way and because I’m really cool) that I bought from a charity shop, black tights, and really cute burgundy coloured heels from Peacocks‘ AW16 collection. I kept my jewellery minimal, at silver rings and a bracelet, because of the murder mystery’s 1930’s theme. I felt really cute in this outfit.

img_1943e

Moving on to the decorations, I was quite lucky in that I already had a dining room with vintage style decor, but I knew it would also work well as a main space for the mingling and chatting of the party, too.

The bottle featured in the forefront of the photo above, was another charity shop find at £4 and added to the 1930’s atmosphere of the evening, along with the tablecloth, which is actually a singular lace curtain that I also found in the charity shop for just £1.50! I received compliments on the ‘tablecloth’, which was luckily the perfect size for the table and made a big difference to the overall feel of the room. I think this was my favourite part of the decor.

The golden coloured candle holder and two recycled glass bottles, I already had around the house, so they became table decorations, too. The candle holder was from IKEA for £7, and so is the large glass bottle. The other bottle is a recycled glass Coca Cola bottle that looks really cute with flowers placed in it. The flowers are from Dunelm.

The fruit bowl we inherited from family and the cake stand I’ll talk about below.

img_1944e

The cushion covers are from an Etsy shop called LizzyMullender and the inserts IKEA again. They’re beautifully made. The rose table runner (we also have matching curtains) was made by my other half’s mother, with material from IKEA (can you tell we like IKEA?) and detailing of embroidered pink flowers along the edge, picked up from a haberdashery and sewed on.

img_1934e

Here’s the beautiful cake stand and server. Both were gifts from my work colleagues, as they know me so well. The cake stand is by Katie Alice, is porcelain and absolutely beautiful. You can see in other photos how much food it holds, as a rough idea.

img_1985e

Whilst my 1930’s playlist of carefully selected songs that were popular at the time played, the guests had glasses of wine, mingled, feasted upon the finger foods I’d selected and got in to character. I felt the atmosphere I created helped people relax and the evening flowed well. It was a nice little escape from reality.

img_1988e

img_1986e

I’m going to end this blog with my new favourite addition to the home – the bathroom door sign. This cute sign was £1.99 (bargain!) from B&M and will be staying up permanently, as another addition to the home, as it slowly becomes more vintage styled…

Full Outfit Details:
Dress- Lady V London
Shoes- Peacocks
Hat – Charity shop find
Wasit belt – Charity shop find
Tights – F&F

Subscribe to my blog via email so you never miss a new post! (on the right side of this page)

Contact: missrachelkathleen@gmail.com

Instagram: @missrachelkathleen
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/missrachelkathleen


KG Strawberry Limeade Regular
xxx

One comment

Leave a Reply

